Staff changes – Awards announced

By Donnie Stanley

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – United Way of Central Carolina has made some staff changes and announced two awards.

The organization named four new senior vice presidents and a new vice president for Mooresville-South Iredell County, and said its vice president of operations in Cabarrus County would retire.

Promoted to senior vice presidents are Charles Page, former vice president for Mooresville-South Iredell County, who will oversee community building; Angela Hubbard, former vice president for special projects, who will oversee administration; William “Mack” McDonald, former vice president for information technology, who will oversee information technology, and Marcia Basloe, former executive director of Beth David Congregation in Miami, who will oversee resource development. 

Promoted to vice president for Mooresville-South Iredell County is Leslie Rink, who previously was community outreach manager in the United Way’s volunteer center.  She will continue to work on the United Way’s fundraising campaign and its expansion efforts in the region.

Billy Philpott, vice president for Cabarrus County operations, will retire this spring, but will continue to work as a consultant to nonprofits. During his eight years of service, he oversaw the distribution of $14 million to local nonprofits.

The United Way also has given Bank of America in Charlotte its 2001 “Spirit of North Carolina” award for its 2002 United Way campaign.  The award recognizes companies that use “best practices and results” in their campaigns. 

Bill Garcia, database analyst in the United Way’s information technology division, was awarded the 2001 John Garber Jr. Minority Development.  Garcia, who competed among 1,400 United Way affiliates for this award, will attend a professional development course at a national United Way conference of his choosing.

United Way of Central Carolinas works with more than 96 agencies, neighborhoods, volunteers and donors in Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Mooresville-South Iredell and Union Counties.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.