Health-fund finalists named

The search to fill 11 of the most coveted board seats in North Carolina philanthropy has been narrowed to 22 finalists.

Professionals from the worlds of health care, philanthropy, nonprofits and business dominate the list of finalists submitted to Attorney General Roy Cooper to serve on the board of the new Health Foundation for North Carolina.

The foundation, which is expected to have at least $1 billion in assets, is being created through the conversion of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina to a for-profit business.

Cooper now will interview all the finalists and select 11 directors. Because of the foundation’s likely impact, Cooper is expected to take as much time as needed to pick the board.

Finalists were selected unanimously from more than 750 nominees by an independent search committee, created by state lawmakers, that consisted of representatives selected by the N.C. Center for Nonprofits, N.C. Citizens for Business and Industry, N.C. Hospital Association, N.C. Medical Society and Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina system.

The 22 finalists are:

* Donna Chavis, director, Native Americans in Philanthropy, Lumberton.

* Carolyn Ruth Black Ferree, professor of radiation oncology, School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem.

* Stephen C. Hassenfelt, chairman, U.S. Trust Co. of North Carolina, and chief operating officer for investments, U.S. Trust Corp., Greensboro.

* John Hatch, program development officer, department of health education, The General Baptist State Convention, Raleigh.

* Phyllis N. Horns, interim vice chancellor for health sciences, East Carolina University, Greenville.

* William Lawrence Joyner, interim executive director and medical director, New Hanover Community Health Center, Wilmington.

* Gloria Pace King, president, United Way of Central Carolinas, Charlotte.

* Thomas W. Lambeth, senior fellow and retired executive director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Winston-Salem.

* David Liden, executive director, Murphy Medical Center Foundation, Murphy.

* Andrea Bazan-Manson, executive director, El Pueblo, Raleigh.

* David Carroll McRae, CEO, University Health Systems of Eastern North Carolina, Greenville.

* Anna Spangler Nelson, general partner, Wakefield Group, Charlotte.

* Charles D. Owen III, president, Charles D. Owen Manufacturing Co., Asheville.

* James B. Powell II, chief of surgery, Memorial Mission Hospital, Asheville.

* Benjamin S. Ruffin, president, Ruffin Group, Winston-Salem, and chairman, board of governors, University of North Carolina system.

* Charles A. Sanders, retired chairman and CEO, Glaxo Inc., Durham.

* Pam Silberman, associate director for policy analysis, Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

* Karen Linnea Smith, regional medical director, Family Care Center, Raeford.

* Michael C. Tarwater, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Carolinas Healthcare System, Charlotte.

* Travis H. Tomlinson Jr., president and administrator, Mayview Convalescent Center, and president, Whitaker Glen Retirement Community, Raleigh.

* Stephanie M. Walker, executive director, Mental Health Association in Greensboro.

* Charles E. Zeigler, former president and chief operating officer, Public Service Companies of North Carolina, Gastonia.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.