People in the news


Keri Strano, assistant director of donor relations, Georgetown University, named donor services officer, The Winston-Salem Foundation, N.C.


Melinda Moree, business development director, Malaria Vaccine Initiative, Program for Appropriate Technology in Health, Seattle, promoted to director. Filip Dubovsky, portfolio, technology and project development director, appointed scientific director.

Maurice Green, general counsel, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, Charlotte, N.C. and Barbara Guilds, executive director, Central Avenue Bilingual Preschool, Charlotte, named to board of directors, Crisis Assistance Ministry.

John Hope Franklin, trustee, The Duke Endowment, Charlotte, N.C. elected vice chairman.

Tom Brunner, executive vice president, Lumenis Inc., Santa Clara, Calif., named president and CEO, Glaucoma Research Foundation, San Francisco.

Elected as new board officers, Grantmakers in Health, Los Angeles:

*Jeannette Corbett — president, Quantum Foundation, West Palm Beach, Fla.

*Matt James — senior vice president for media and public education, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Menlo Park, Calif.

*Alicia Lara — vice president, programs, The California Endowment, Woodland Hills, Calif.

*Eugene Cochrane Jr. — vice president and director, The Duke Endowment, Charlotte, N.C.

*Marguerite Johnson — vice president, programs, W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, Mich.

Named as new board members, Grantmakers in Health, Los Angeles:

*Crisina Regalado — vice president, programs, The California Wellness Foundation.

*Mark Smith — president and CEO, California HealthCare Foundation.

*Edward Meehan — executive director, The Dorothy Rider Pool Health Care Trust.

The James Irvine Foundation, San Francisco, announced new staff members and promotions:

*Jeff Brandenburg — IT manager, ROI, appointed manager, information technology.

*Dion Hudson — human resources specialist, California Academy of Sciences, appointed human resources manager.

*Micky Shirley — executive assistant to the executive director, The Breast Cancer Fund, appointed administrative assistant.

*Lande Ajose — associate program officer, promoted to program officer.

*Sally Allen — program associate, promoted to associate program officer.

*Daliz E. Perez-Cabezas — program assistant, promoted to program associate.

Martha Katz, deputy director of policy and legislation, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, appointed director of health policy, Healthcare Georgia Foundation, Atlanta.

O.W. Faulk, Union Regional Hospital, Charlotte, N.C., elected board chair, LifeSpan, Charlotte. Nancy Underwood Young, elected vice chair.


Barbara Dyer, president and CEO, The Hitachi Foundation, Washington, D.C., and Richard T. Schlosberg III, president and CEO, The David and Lucile Packard Foundation, Los Altos, Calif., named chairs for 2003 annual conference, Independent Sector, Washington, D.C.

Alexa C. Culwell, CEO, Charles and Helen Schwab Foundation, San Mateo, Calif., and Ricardo A. Millett, president, Woods Fund of Chicago, named to board of directors, The Center for Effective Philanthropy, Boston.

Norman E. Nabhan, national director of sales, Smith Barney’s Consulting Group, promoted to national director.

Elected as new board directors, Habitat for Humanity of Charlotte, N.C.:

*Allen Woodward — executive vice president for western region of North Carolina, First Citizens Bank.

*Don Olmstead — managing director, Novare Capital.

*Wally HumannPricewaterhouseCoopers.

*Bobby Hinson banking, finance and property lawyer, Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge & Rice.

*Lisa Quisenberry — community volunteer.

Named as new board members, Habitat for Humanity of Charlotte, N.C.:

*William Daleure — land developer, Crosland Inc.

*Charles Jonas — Anderson Executive Search.

*Spencer Pee — General Contracting Group.

*Burt PhilipsCorder Philips & Wilson.

*Frank Reed — community volunteer.

Clotilde Perez-Bode Dedecker, former president, Association of Junior Leagues International Inc., New York, and executive director, Erie County Commission on the Status of Women, Buffalo, N.Y., appointed to President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, Washington, D.C.

Named as new board directors, Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors, New York:

*Sharon B. King — president, The F.B. Heron Foundation, New York.

*Stuart Davidson — managing direct
or, Labrador Ventures, Palo Alto, Calif.

Kathryn Jehle, interim vice president of finance, Johnson C. Smith University, Charlotte, N.C., promoted to vice president.

Lee Hampton, executive director of corporate and foundation development, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Fla., appointed vice president of institutional development, Johnson C. Smith University, Charlotte, N.C.


Barbara Bryan, president, New York Regional Association of Grantmakers, will retire June 30.

Seabrook B. Wingate, vice president of strategic operations and major gifts, United Way of Greater Greensboro, N.C., promoted to executive vice president.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.