People, groups in the news – North Carolina Healthcare Information and Communication Alliance


* North Carolina Healthcare Information and Communication Alliance, Research Triangle Park, named William Mattern, professor of medicine, UNC Health Care System, as board chair, and Rosemary Abell, director, National Healthcare Vertical Solutions, Keane, Durham, as board president. Four new board members named: J. Steven Cline, epidemiology section chief, Division of Public Health, N.C. Department of Health and Human Services; Patricia MacTaggart, vice president, U.S. government solutions, EDS, Raleigh; Michael Samuhel, director, research development, Research Triangle Institute; Samuel Spicer, emergency physician, East Carolina Emergency Physicians, Wilmington.

* Rallying Points, Robert Woods Johnson Foundation program, gave two of five national community coalitions awards of excellence and $15,000 each to two North Carolina groups: Carolinas Center for Hospice and End-of-Life Care, Cary, won outstanding statewide coalition, and Community Partnership for End-of-Life Care, Winston-Salem, won leading regional coalition, Eastern region.

* Barium Springs Home for Children named beneficiary, G. Randolph Babcock estate.

* Folk, Round and Square Dance Federation of North Carolina raised over $32,000 this year for 37 hospices through Carolinas Center for Hospice and End-of-Life Care, Cary, and since 1990 has raised nearly $480,000 for hospices.


* Helen Morrill Bunce, retired executive director, North Carolina Eye Bank, died Nov.12 in Winston-Salem.

* Paul Gardner, director of development and executive director, Dental Foundation of North Carolina,  and former assistant dean for development and alumni affairs, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, named associate dean for development, Kenan-Flagler Business School, UNC-CH.

* Christine Craig, executive director, Kids Voting Wake County, named a government affairs specialist, WakeMed, Raleigh.

* Duke University will partner with Child Care Services Association to form Duke Child Care Partnership program and will give up to $200,000 annually to local child care centers for quality improvement and infant/toddler expansion.

* Children’s Theatre of Charlotte received 2003 Constance Welsh theatre for youth award from North Carolina Theatre Conference.


* Kim Wilson, former director of education, Detroit-based Pewabic Pottery, nonprofit ceramic arts group, named executive director, Sawtooth Center for Visual Art, Winston-Salem.

* Mecklenburg County-based Love INC, program that connects local church volunteers with people in need, became 100th member agency of United Way of Central Carolinas.

* Mitchell Marlowe, former executive director, Exchange/SCAN Center, child-abuse-prevention nonprofit in Iredell County, named executive director, Guilford Interfaith Hospitality Network, Greensboro.

* Andy Hagler, executive director, Mental Health Association in Forsyth County, received Mrs. J.B. Spilman Award from The Mental Health Association in North Carolina for outstanding executive director of a local affiliate. Affiliate also received one of several awards for excellence in management, and an award for making the most outstanding contributions to “Operation Santa Claus,” a program that provides holiday gifts and services to mental-health patients.


* Dea Leahman, director of education and program development, Hospice & Palliative CareCenter, Winston-Salem, received 2003 End of Life Care Leadership Award from Carolinas Center for Hospice and End of Life Care.

* Barbara J. Pellin, retired assistant superintendent for student, family & community services, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, received Dreammaker award from Community in Schools for commitment to education and welfare of children.

* Philip Blumenthal, Charlotte civic leader and former Sierra Club Foundation president, received Courage in Leadership Award from Corporate DevelopMint, Charleston, S.C., for support of environmental causes and leadership of Wildacres Retreat, Little Switzerland, N.C.

* College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, N.C. State University, gave awards for service to university:

  • Dean’s distinguished service award– Jim Graham, former N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture.
  • 2003 outstanding volunteer awards — Elaine Marshall, N.C. Secretary of State; Fleet Sugg, former head, N.C Peanut Growers Association; and Jeff Tennant, executive, Farm Progress Companies.
  • 2003 outstanding corporate donor — Progress Energy, Duke Power, Dominion North Carolina.
  • 2003 outstanding philanthropic foundation — A.E. Finley Foundation, Raleigh.
  • Outstanding commodity organization award: N.C. Farm Bureau Federation.

* Certified Fund Raising Executive International awarded professional CFRE designation to five members of Charlotte chapter, Association of Fundraising Professionals:

  • Stephanie Cole, director of development services, University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
  • Lane D. Cook, deputy director and major gifts officer, York County Culture and Heritage Foundation.
  • Bobby A. Prince, director of major gifts, UNC-Charlotte.
  • Anne Schmitt, development director, Family Center.
  • Vanessa Shelton Stolen, vice president of communications & development, United Family Services.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.